top of page

Less than six weeks to go...

It's been a while but its is now less than six weeks until the start of my challenge. As of Saturday (12th January) it is exactly 6 weeks away until I fly out to Morocco. It's definitely getting scarier the closer we get to the start. However, training is going well, apart from two weeks when I've been off with back pain; but I'm back and rearing to go. I've been to some beautiful places over the past couple months, mostly in the Lake District and the Peak District, and some have definitely put me through my places, including climbing up Scafell Pike!

Scafell Pike was great for training. The difficult terrain, the wintry conditions on top, and the struggle at the end when my legs just didn't want to move anymore. However, it put me through my paces, made me work my leg muscles, and I found I have decent recovery time which is exactly what I need for my trek in the Sahara. Since then I've been training every weekend, jogging, and working out in my garage.

On the 14th November, it was the anniversary of my husband's death. It has been seven years, and I still think of him regularly. I would like to take the opportunity to remember him and the real reason to why I am doing this challenge as it is all in his memory. David (aka Bart) was one of the kindest person you'd ever meet. He would go anything for those he loved, and would always manage to put a smile on anyone's face. He was funny, silly, and incredibly lovable. He was a dedicated and talented musician, and music was his life. He was always at his happiest when playing some kind of instrument, whether it was his bass, a guitar, a keyboard, a ukulele, or just messing around on music software trying to make that perfect beat. Music was so important to him, that music was one of our themes at our wedding - including having a guitar on our wedding cake. We had many fantastic memories together that I don't know where to begin, but I'm happy I got to have although special times with him. Everyone who knew Bart have the fondest of memories of him, and I know the thought of him makes people smile and encourages them to do things they need that extra push. As I think we all feel him there with us, being proud of what we can achieve. I know he will be with me every step through the Sahara giving me the strength I need to carry on.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank all those who have sponsored me. I am almost 70% of the way to my target so a massive thank you!

bottom of page