top of page

Training has begun!

I'm now officially into week four of my training, and it has been easy going so far. Apart from some very wet days it's been lovely. I've been taking the opportunity to have a quick walk on my lunch breaks at work and spending the weekends in the Peak District. Slow and stead wins the race and all that, but I'm not sure walking around Nottingham is preparing me entirely for what I am going to experience in the desert! It just isn't as hot or sandy enough :)

The distance is definitely not the concern, the heat and the difficult terrain most certainly is... Most of my training will be over the next few months which will unfortunately be winter. From what I've read (not sure how true it is as the weather forecast on the day tends to be incorrect) we are expecting a pretty bad winter. I suppose that will at least all my walking will be on difficult terrain as a consequence.

Most of my walking training will be 30 minutes to 2 hours walks over the next two months, I suppose the idea is to ease you into it. I already do a lot of walking so it really is just an excuse to go out every weekend. I am continuing to do my personal training sessions, and I already feel stronger for them, so a big thank you to my trainer Sam.

I will shortly be doing a Q&A video as part of my blog so if you have any questions about anything to do with the trek, the training, the reasons why I'm doing this, then please contact me or feel free to leave a comment.

bottom of page